Miami University Equestrian

The progress of Miami University Equestrian

About the Author

Dear avid Miami equestrian blog reader,

I have been writing these blog posts for the last few weeks, but I don’t think we have officially met.  Allow me to introduce myself.  My name is Jenn Gunther.  I have been working for Miami equestrian for the past five years, but my experience with Miami extends even longer.  I knew that Miami was where I wanted to go to college the day I came for my first visit.  As we came into campus from state route 73, I glanced out the passenger window, took one look at the equestrian center and thought, “yep, I could spend the next four years here.”  While I would like to say that I came to Miami for the amazing programs, great professor, history of academic excellence, even the tasty dining hall food (seriously, I still eat at a dining hall for lunch whenever I can) I know that the real reason has four legs and a tail.

I began riding horses when I was about 10 years old.  I took lessons and went to open shows.  I eventually convinced my parents to let me get a horse when I was 12.  He was an American Paint Horse named Roger.

photo

The best part about my time as a student was riding on the western equestrian team.  I loved the challenge of riding so many different horses and the intensity of taking a brand new horse into the show ring each time.  More than that, I loved the people I met through riding on the team.  I met great coaches, awesome teammates that are still close friends.  I even met the man I would marry (yes, I am officially a Miami merger).

IMG_0155563950_10100682680220238_2126502826_n

Other than the horses, I was drawn to Miami because it was one of only a few schools that offered a Creative Writing major.  It wasn’t until after I graduated that I had the epiphany of, “Creative Writing?  What the heck do I do with that?” So I waited tables.  One day, I received a phone call from Beth Akers asking if I would like to work for her teaching KNH classes while she was out in the fall for maternity leave.  I had no experience teaching, but I knew this was an opportunity that I couldn’t pass up.  I learned that I loved teaching, and even went back to school and earned a Master of Arts in Teaching degree.  What was supposed to be a temporary position turned into a job that I look forward to going to every day.

Thank you for your continued support of Miami equestrian and all the positive comments and encouragement for our program.  We couldn’t do what we do without our friends.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “About the Author

  1. Nancy on said:

    Heh heh heh…had the same experience in 1981 of driving up rt 73 past the stables and yelping, “I’m going to college here!!”

Comment here

